U.S. Senator Tina Smith (D-Minn.)—along with Sens. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), and Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)—is standing up for the nation’s rural economy by urging the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to end the harmful abuse of small refinery hardship waivers under the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS). In a letter sent to EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler, Sen. Smith and her colleagues pointed out that under the Trump Administration, the granting of waivers has increased by 370 percent with “small refinery” waivers going to large oil companies. While the president has signaled he wants federal agencies to reverse course on this practice, Sens. Smith, Klobuchar, Stabenow, Durbin, Peters, Baldwin and Brown want actions that live up to this promise. More>>